Main Menu

Explore More

OSF To Recognize Excellence in Teaching

Nominations are now being accepted for the Oakwood Schools Foundation Parker Love of Teaching and Lifelong Learning Award.

Saying her family benefited in many ways from Oakwood’s outstanding school system and wanting to give back to the schools in a special way, former longtime Oakwood teacher Beverly Parker created the award in 2010 in memory of her late husband Robert Parker.  

Since 2010, 10 deserving teachers have received the award, consisting of a $1,200 prize, which is divided between the recipient and the teacher’s school, and framed artwork designed by an Oakwood High School art student. Past winners are: Janet Block (Lange), Kathy Allan (OJHS), Tony Rainsberger (OHS), Ron Nelson (All buildings), Susan Kuntz (Harman), John Edwards (Harman), Nate Thompson (Smith), Lynne Irwin (Smith), Lori Morris (OHS) and Leslie Blythe (OJH/OHS).  

Parents, students, community members, alumni, other faculty members and administrators can nominate teachers who meet the award criteria, which includes teaching in Oakwood Schools for at least five years.  The award criteria and the nomination form can be found on the OSF website at: 

Parker Love of Teaching & Lifelong Learning Award

Nominations and letters of support are retained for one year. If a candidate is not selected as the winner, the nominator may simply submit the current nomination form and the candidate will be reconsidered.

The nomination deadline is Monday, March 15, 2021.  For more information, contact Dante Connell, OSF Director, by email at or by phone at 297-5332.